top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle Park

Starting DeLight

Updated: Nov 27, 2020

In the summer of 2020, I decided to build a project to target an issue that I have been looking into for years: light pollution. I realized how light pollution impacts astrophotography when I first joined the Slooh community (which provides remote access telescopes) and I was finally able to photograph interstellar objects that aren't visible in my neighborhood due to light pollution. As a frequent stargazer, light pollution has made it difficult for me to observe the beauty of the night sky, but I was surprised when I found that light pollution has even greater consequences that affects not just stargazers.


Light pollution can:

- Hurt wildlife since artificial light affects their life-sustaining behaviors

- Hurt our health since artificial light increases the risk of obesity, sleep disorders, depression, diabetes, cancer, etc.

- Increase crime since extra light has been scientifically proven to make properties more visible to criminals and thus reduce personal safety.

- Waste electricity, resulting in climate change and greenhouse gas production.

- Prevent the world from viewing the natural beauty of the night sky, which has always been part of our heritage.


It's so easy to help support the mission against light pollution: from making sure that your outdoor lights aren't too bright to spreading awareness in your community. I hope that you will help DeLight's mission to save our health, our heritage, and our only home in the universe.



95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page